REFLECTIONS OF A COUNTRY PUNK NAMED JOE

REFLECTIONS OF A COUNTRY PUNK NAMED JOE:
If you ever lived in the mountains long enough you might start to feel the same deep disconnect and unconcern I do for what the city people are fussing about. Their values and politics start to sound absurd to you. The fads they follow seem even more bizarre than ever – until eventually you realize you don’t even know what the fads are anymore, nor do you particularly care. You don’t know what the hit song on the radio is, you don’t know what’s playing in the theatres and you don’t know what the new t.v. show is that everyone is watching.

But truthfully I was that way before I went to the city late in 2002 and I was still that way when I left it, I never understood them and they never understood me. This might explain why none of my hipster co-workers ever gave a fuck about me – I just didn’t care about their city oriented anthropocentric bullshit so I wasn’t ‘cool’. The average conversation left my intellect feeling like a dry mouth in the desert, thirsting to find the few people that could learn me something. Flashing lights, stereoscopic feelies, soma and convenience culture didn’t break me down leaving me missing it, in fact it was quite the opposite…I couldn’t wait to escape the mental drain it gave me.

When I finally found truth in the mountains I largely found it in hard work and the growing of my family.

 

-REFLECTIONS OF A COUNTRY PUNK NAMED JOE part 2:
If you have a woodstove you are in luck when the fan hits the shit. Coming back to a cold house calls for action. For quick hot burning fires save all your bacon grease, veggie oil, wax and other grease in a large coffee tin.

You can either spoon a little or pour it out on your prospective fire, when the temperature of the fire gets right it will burn like all hell even getting the logs going quickly. Even a couple tablespoons of used car oil can turn your kindling into a sure fire while getting rid of shit you would have otherwised poured down the storm drain or over your neighbours fence.

After a while it becomes a game to see what junk in the house might become good kindling…

 

REFLECTION OF A COUNTRY PUNK NAMED JOE III:
The greatest dichotomy of my life is my neurotic need to live out here in the mountains while my heart is still bent on a career as an outlaw country singer. When I lived in the city and chased a career in music I was miserable and wished to be a mountain man, now I’m a mountain man and I struggle with the reality that I’ll always be small potatoes in the music world. Many mornings I wake up now and I have swallow the reality I’ll never be a star and go get on with the tasks that are ahead of me for the day. It wouldn’t have been enough to be near the mountains either, I had to go be out in them and in doing that I couldn’t become both a career musician and a woodsman.

When I watch my friends music careers I yearn for their success and try my best to be happy for them. They come here for ArtsWells Festival and tell us that they envy the way we live. Those moments of loss do pass if I wait and rationalize them out. These great disappointments over the loss of half my dreams eventually settle back into their proper context and that’s when I am able to be thankful for how happy I actually am.

About joeyonly

Dr.Joey Only will knock you out...and do it with country music!!! HIYAAAAAA!! View all posts by joeyonly

2 responses to “REFLECTIONS OF A COUNTRY PUNK NAMED JOE

Leave a Reply

